2019-20 SHA Award Winners Announced


Thursday, May 28th, 2020 - The Saskatchewan Hockey Association is proud to announce the recipients of the 2019-20 SHA Awards. The SHA Awards are presented annually to recognize the hard-working; volunteers, coaches and minor hockey associations who put in a tremendous amount of effort each year to promote and improve the game of hockey in Saskatchewan. Through a nomination process, the SHA Awards highlight these individuals and associations. This year’s award recipients, chosen during the 2019-20 season are as follows;


  • Sarah MacNaught (Saskatoon, SK) – MacNaught is being recognized for her constant commitment to volunteerism and the development of female minor hockey within the Saskatoon Minor Hockey Association (SMHA). MacNaught has served as a member of the Board for the SMHA’s Saskatoon Comets female hockey zone for the past four (4) years. In addition to being an SMHA board member, MacNaught has taken on the role of manager two female hockey teams for the past six years, managing bookings and planning each team’s transportation, accommodation, team building activities and meals throughout the season. In addition to being team manager, MacNaught also takes on the role of hockey mom to two daughters on two different teams within the SMHA. Sarah MacNaught has played a crucial role in the development of female minor hockey in Saskatoon and this award is well deserved.


  • Steve Young (Prince Albert, SK) – Young has been selected as this year’s Outstanding Coach of the year for the 2019-20 season. He served as Head Coach of the PA Lehner Electric Female Bantam AA Foxes. Young’s transition to the role of Head Coach of the Foxes was describe as “a professionalism and dedication that is unprecedented”. Parents have remarked that their daughters “leave the rink every day feeling good about themselves thanks to Coach Steve”. Young was able to take 16 ladies from 8 different communities, who had played on 9 different teams the previous season and helped guide those ladies to the Provincial Championships before the season was ended early due to COVID-19. Steve Young’s dedication to the development of each of his athletes and the ability to make each individual feel valued is the exact reason for the creation of the Outstanding Coach Award.


  • Avonlea Minor Hockey – Despite only boasting a population of 393 (StatsCan, 2016), Avonlea Minor Hockey has made a big name for themselves in the community, putting 4 teams on the ice this season in 4 different divisions (U7, U9, U11 and U13). Avonlea fully adopted the U7 Cross-ice and U9 Half-Ice format implemented over the past seasons and saw tremendous results in development of young athletes in the association. With its continued focus on the skill development of grassroots players, officials and coaches, as well as playing exceptional hosts of the Female U16 SaskFirst Regional Camps, Avonlea Minor Hockey is much deserving of the Outstanding Minor Hockey Association Award this past season.

Unfortunately, in 2019-20 no award was presented to an outstanding volunteer in the southern region of the province as no eligible nominations were submitted for this award. 

Congratulations to all award recipients and thank you for your outstanding service and dedication to the game of hockey in Saskatchewan.

0View Cart


Total: $0