SHHOF Induction Dinner Announces 'Game On' for Event Tickets and Sponsorship

Wednesday, April 17, 2019 - This year’s Dinner is being held in Saskatoon for the first time and will take place on Saturday, July 6th, at Prairieland Park. This year marks the eighth edition of the SHHOF annual Induction Dinner. The evening will be a celebration highlighting the careers and accomplishments of all the inductees.


When: Saturday July 6, 2019

Cocktail Reception: 6:00 pm

Dinner: 7:00 pm

Where: Prairieland Park (Hall A), Saskatoon

Dress: Business Casual

Tickets $175  |  Table $1,400

Tickets & Tables can be purchased online by visiting:

Or by contacting Bart Hunter at 1-306-665-2363 or

Hockey is part of our way of life in this province and this event honors some of the people who have made it so special.  We are fortunate to have Drew Remenda as our Master of Ceremonies, and over and above all the entertaining presentations; Drew will be hosting a “Hot Stove Lounge” session with some of our legendary guests.  Stay tuned! 

Volunteer Chair, Bart Hunter

The Saskatchewan Hockey Hall of Fame (SHHOF) opened in 2012 in conjunction with the Saskatchewan Hockey Association’s 100th year celebration. The location of the SHHOF is in Swift Current at the Credit Union I-Plex, home of the Swift Current Broncos. All funds raised will go to the maintaining & operating of the SHHOF.

The Saskatchewan Hockey Hall of Fame Class of 2019


  • Murray "Bert" Olmstead (Sceptre, Saskatchewan): Bert played for the Canadiens, Blackhawks, and Leafs in his NHL career from 1949-1962. Olmstead played in the Stanley Cup final 11 times and was part of five championship teams.
  • Ferdinand "Fernie" Flaman (Dysart, Saskatchewan): Fern joined the Boston Bruins in 1947. Flaman spent five seasons with the Bruins before being traded to the Toronto Maple Leafs, with whom he won a Stanley Cup the year he was dealt in 1951.
  • Keith Magnuson (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan): Magnuson played 589 career NHL games in a ten year career with the Chicago Blackhawks. Magnuson played in two Stanley Cup finals, and was a two time NHL all star.
  • Curtis Leschyshyn (Thompson, MB): Curtis played for the Quebec Nordiques/Colorado Avalanche franchise for parts of 9 seasons. He won a Stanley Cup in 1996 with Colorado. Leschyshyn played in over 1,000 NHL games with other stops in Washington, Carolina, Minnesota and Ottawa.
  • Brian Skrudland (Peace River, AB): After spending three years with the Saskatoon Blades, Skrudland played in over 800 NHL games. Skrudland was a member of the 1986 Montreal Canadiens Stanley Cup winning team and scored the fastest overtime goal in finals history at nine seconds in game two of that series.
  • Ed Van Impe (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan): Van Impe spent close to nine seasons with the "Broad Street Bullies" (The Philadelphia Flyers) and was part of the 1974 and 1975 Stanley Cup winning teams. He also played the memorable 1976 Super Series against the Soviet Red Army.


  • Murray Armstrong (Manor, Saskatchewan): After playing in 270 NHL games in the 1930's and 40's, Armstrong coached the Regina Pats for eight years from 1948-56 and led the team to four Memorial Cup Finals in that time. He coached the University of Denver from 1955 to 1977 and led the program to five NCAA championships
  • Maxwell "Max" McNab (Watson, Saskatchewan): As a player, McNab won a Stanley Cup with the Detroit Red Wings in 1950. McNab was General Manager of the Washington Capitals from 1975 to 1982, before becoming the New Jersey Devils GM from 1983-86. McNab won the Lester Patrick Trophy in 1998 for his contributions to hockey in the United States.
  • William "Bill" Thon (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan): In 1970 Thon founded the Melfort Missilettes female hockey team. In 1981 he helped establish the Maidstone Saskies female program. The Saskies captured medals (one silver and two bronze) at a national level from 1981 to 1991. For his 62 years of dedication Thon received the Canadian Celebration Medal of Volunteerism in 1988 by the Government of Canada.
  • Brodsky Family (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan): The Brodsky family owned a majority share or were sole owners of the Saskatoon Blades from 1976 to 2013. The ownership group included father Nate, children Rick, Jack, Bob and Debbie. The Blades advanced to the WHL championship series in 1992 and 1994 and hosted the Memorial Cup in 1989 and 2013.


  • Brad Watson (Regina, Saskatchewan): Completed his official's exam and started his career in 1978. In 1987 Watson made the jump to referee, and attended the NHL's evaluation camp. After being a referee in four straight WHL finals, he was offered a contract with the NHL in 1993. His first game was March 7, 1995. Watson has officiated in over 1,100 NHL regular season games and worked the Stanley Cup finals on at least eight occasions from 2003 to 2014.


  • Jim McIntryre (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan): McIntyre has served as coach, league governor and bus driver for the Saskatoon Contacts since purchasing the team in 1980. McIntyre was Saskatchewan Midget "AAA" coach of the year in 1995, and was the 2005 Mac's Midget Tournament Coach of the Year. Under McIntyre, the Contacts have been to five Air Canada/Telus Cup championships and won the national championship in 2005.
  • Joe Bloski (Chelan, Saskatchewan): Bloski began coaching minor hockey in 1960, but is known for his volunteerism. He is widely known for his involvement with the Saskatoon Blazers midget "AAA" team at the Saskatchewan midget"AAA" league. Bloski has received numerous awards for his work with hockey, including induction in to the Saskatoon Sports Hall of Fame in 1998, and he received Kinsmen Sportsman of the Year Award" in 2000.


  • 1967 Saskatoon Centennials: To commemorate the 100th year of confederation, the Centennial Cup was presented to the best midget age-level in the country. After earning the right to advance by beating several provincial rivals, coach Terry Bichnell took his team, by train, to Kingston Ontario for the championships. The team beat five other provincial teams, and earned a bronze medal at the event. NHL player Orest Kindrachuk was a member of the team.
  • 2004-05 Saskatoon Contacts: After finishing with a record of 38-3-2 and 1 that season the midget "AAA" Contacts won the league title and western regionals to advance to the 2005 Telus Cup. After four wins and a tie in the round robin portion of the tournament, the Contacts beat Don Mills, Ontario 3-1 to advance to the final against the Gatineau Intrepide. The Contacts won the championship game 4-1. Nick Kalnicki led the way for Saskatoon with one goal and two assists.

The Saskatchewan Hockey Hall of Fame opened in 2012 in conjunction with the Saskatchewan Hockey Association's 100th year celebration, and is located in Swift Current at the Credit Union I-Plex. For more information, visit

0View Cart


Total: $0