SHA Board Decision to Make Regina and Saskatoon Geographic Subdivision Boundaries for Female Hockey


To:         SHA Membership

From:    Kelly McClintock, General Manager

RE:       SHA Board Decision to make Regina and Saskatoon Geographic Subdivision Boundaries for Female Hockey (Update)

November 21st, 2017 - I am sure many of you have heard through the various media outlets within the Province and social media that the SHA Board of Directors decided to make Regina and Saskatoon Geographic Subdivision boundaries for Female hockey beginning in the 2018/19 season. This decision mirrors what has existed in male hockey for many years. This decision was made in April 2017.

There were four submissions from the following four groups/MHA’s that requested that the SHA Board of Directors reconsider their decision, delay the implementation of it and create a committee to review Female Hockey in the Province;

  •               Saskatoon Comets
  •               Hockey Regina Female Committee
  •               Lumsden/Bethune Minor Hockey
  •               Prairie Storm Minor Hockey

A Memo detailing the reasons for the decision were forwarded to the Membership on June 22, 2017. The Memo is available HERE for your reference.

The following is an update on the current Registration numbers to date involving female players around Regina and Saskatoon.

The number of female players from outside the boundaries of Regina and Saskatoon registered in the two cities;

Registration Regina Saskatoon
Initiation 0 0
Novice 2 3
Atom 4 7
Peewee 14 15
Bantam 23 22
Midget 8 17
Total 51 64

There are Associations who have begun to organize Female teams within areas around Regina and Saskatoon; Hague, Delisle and Lumsden.

There are others who will be undertaking initiatives to offer female programming beginning next year.

In addition, the SHA has a “AA/AAA” Committee who is working on looking at both the Male and Female Models in the Province and we expect recommendations to be made in the new year that will be discussed at Zone Meetings in March, where Minor Hockey Association Presidents and a guest are invited to discuss topics/proposals and provide feedback to the SHA Board of Directors. This Committee has approximately fifteen (15) members from throughout the province including representatives from Regina and Saskatoon, the Saskatchewan Female Midget AAA league along with the Presidents of the North and South Saskatchewan Female Hockey Leagues.

The SHA Board of Directors are committed to the growth of the Female game.

0View Cart


Total: $0