SHA Recognizes Award Recipients

Monday, July 16, 2018 – Through a variety of awards, the Saskatchewan Hockey Association (SHA) recognizes and honours individuals and associations that are committed to making a difference to the game of hockey. The SHA Lifetime Achievement Award and SHA Annual Awards were presented recently to the following recipients.

SHA Lifetime Achievement Award

At the SHA Annual General Meeting held on June 23 in Regina, the SHA Lifetime Achievement Award was presented Al Hubbs of Indian Head. Hubbs receives this award for his countless years of service on the SHA Board of Directors, serving as President from 2009 to 2013. Presenting the award was SHA Board Officer, Gary Orthner of Raymore.

The Lifetime Achievement award is the highest honour that is bestowed by the SHA and is only for distinguished service to the SHA. Nominations must be received in writing to the General Manager by March 1st each year. A vote is than conducted with the SHA board to determine if the nominated person shall receive this award.

Pictured (Left to Right): Diane Hubbs, Al Hubbs and Gary Orthner

SHA Awards 2017-18

The SHA awards are presented annually in the categories of Volunteer of the Year: South and North, Coach of the Year and Minor Hockey Association of the Year. The awards recipients are selected through a nomination period that concludes on April 15th of each season. For the 2017-18 season, the awards were presented to the following:

SHA AWARDS 2017-18
Award Name City/Town
 Volunteer of the Year (South) Jeff Johnston Midale
 Volunteer of the Year (North) Rick Reimer Saskatoon
 Coach of the Year George Pyne White City
 Minor Hockey Association of the Year Lafleche Minor Hockey Association

Congratulations to all award recipients as their service and dedication to the game of hockey makes our sport truly special here in Saskatchewan.

0View Cart


Total: $0