SHA Referee’s Division Announce Most Deserving Officials

The final installment of SHA Referee’s Division and Hockey Canada Awards for the 2016-17 season will feature the four winners of the Most Deserving Official Awards.

There was plenty of good discussion about the candidates for this award and the work that is done for officiating both on and off the ice. The 2016-17 Hockey Canada Most Deserving Official Award goes to Weyburn’s Greg Happ. Happ joined Weyburn Minor Hockey last season and took on the role of Referee-in-Chief. Happ has helped to rebuild the officials program in Weyburn, which was an area of concern in recent years. He did a great job with recruitment and re-establishing Weyburn with large new group of officials. He also implemented a mentorship program and through the assistance of several other volunteers they were able to conduct approximately 150 supervisions in Weyburn throughout the season. Happ’s work also helped recruit female midget AAA players to the official’s side and because of that, Weyburn covered a female tournament this season with a full staff of female officials. Happ was also the recipient of the Zone 1 Most Deserving Official Award. Happ has been an official himself for two seasons.

In Zone 2, a long time official, Murray (Moe) Ash was the winner of the Most Deserving Award. Ash works several levels of hockey and can be found on the ice for almost any tournament hosted in Regina. He is one of the most worked officials in Regina and the 55-year-old has been officiating for more than 15 years. He is a very deserving receipt in Regina and someone who makes the most of every game he officiates, where it be with veteran or younger officials.

In Zone 3, the winner of the Most Deserving Award goes to Andrew Myers. Myers starting officiating in 1998 and has worked all levels of hockey including minor, junior and senior hockey. Myers is a leader for officials in Moose Jaw and assists the Referee’s Division as a clinic instructor as well. He also did nearly 50 supervisions of grassroots and minor/senior officials in and around Moose Jaw last season.

Ron Lutz was named the winner of the Zone 4 Most Deserving Official Award. Lutz is the vice-president of Melville Minor Hockey and has helped unify the officials within Melville. He was one of the driving forces behind supplying all officials in Melville with matching jackets this season, as he continues to help unify the group of officials and provide mentorship in that area. Lutz also gets on the ice as an official and helps out locally.

Congratulations go out to all the 2016-17 award winners. Each recipient will be presented with their award at the Official Clinic they attend at the beginning of the 2017-18 season.

0View Cart


Total: $0